Organizations can add as many users as they would like to their scanning accounts and assign each user a different role and permissions. This guide covers the following User management features in the Pope Tech scanning platform:
- Accessing User Management Tools
- Viewing, Adding and Managing Users
- Viewing, Adding and Managing User Roles
Accessing User Management Tools
User Management Tools are located by activating the “Users” button in the main navigation. Nested under the “Users” button are the “List” and “Roles” buttons. The “List” button allows users to view, add and manage users and their group and role assignments. The “Roles” button allows users to view, add and manage roles, and assign permissions to roles.
If a user does not have the “Users” button in the main navigation, they have not been given permission to “Manage Users.”
Users with permission to “Manage Users” are only able to view, add, and modify users in the group (and sub-groups) they have been given access to in the platform.
Viewing, Adding and Managing Users
Users with permission to “Manage” users have the ability to perform the following user management functions:
- View the list of current users in their assigned group and nested-subgroups.
- Add New Users to their assigned group and nested-subgroups.
- Modify existing Users groups and role assignment.
Viewing Users (User List)
The list of current users can be viewed by activating the “List” button, nested under the “Users” button in the main navigation. A user will only be able to see users in groups they have been assigned to.
The User List contains the following information: Users Names, email addresses, their assigned Role and Group, when they last accessed the platform, and their Status. There are currently two user statuses, invited and active.
- The status of invited means they have been sent an email, but not yet set up their logins.
- The status of active means the user has successfully set up their logins.
The Action button at the end of a user’s information allows the user’s information to be edited or a user to be deleted from the platform.
Adding a User
Navigate to the Users section of the application navigation and select List. Here you will see a list of the current users of the organization. To edit a user click on the user and make the desired changes. To create a new users navigate to the “Add A User” button.
When creating a user you all four of the following fields must be completed:
- Name (a text field): Enter the user’s name
- Email (a text field): Enter the user’s email address where they will receive the invite.
- Role (a drop-down list): Select a previously created role for the user. This will determine which permissions the user will have.
- Group (a drop-down list): Select a previously created group for the user. Users will only see groups and subgroups they have been given permission to access.
Once all the fields in the form are completed, activating the save button will automatically send the new user an email with instructions, with a link on how to create their password and login to the platform.
Editing a User
A user’s information can be edited by selecting the Action button located at the end of the user’s information on the User’s Lists. The Edit a User’s form is identical to the Add User form.
Users can also be deleted from the Edit User option
Deleting a User
To remove a user from the platform, select the Action button located at the end of a user’s information on the User’s List. At the bottom of the Edit User form is the Delete button. Activating this button will initiate the Delete User process. You must confirm the delete.
Note: If a user is deleted they will lose full access to the platform and will have to be added again. They will need to create a new login before they will be able to access the platform. Additionally, all user information will be deleted as well.
Viewing, Adding and Managing User Roles
Users with permission to “Manage” users have the ability to perform the following user role management functions:
- View the list of current user roles
- Add new User Roles
- Modify existing User Roles
Viewing User Roles
Activating the “Roles” button, located under “Users in the main navigation, will open the current list of roles created for your organization.
Creating a User Role
From the main Roles page, you can add a new Role for Users in your organization. Activating the “Add A Role” button will open up the New Role form. Adding a new role is done in 3 steps:
- Giving the role a name (any name you choose)
- Selecting which permissions will be assigned to the role by selecting the desired checkboxes
- Activating “Save” button to save the permissions to the role
The following permissions can be assigned to a User Role:
If this permission is selected, users assigned to the role will be able to view, add, and modify groups and which websites are assigned to each group.
If this permission is selected, users assigned to the role will be able to start scans, scheduled scans, and view download and email reports.
If this permission is selected, users assigned to the role will be able to view, add, and manage users and users roles (as described in this article)
If this permission is selected, users assigned to the role will be able to view websites, add new pages to the website page list by crawling or CSV uploads, and modify crawl and scan settings.
This is the default permission that all users have, it allows them to see the dashboard and web accessibility data for the group they are assigned to and drill down into results.
Only users with the Dismiss Results permissions are able to dismiss an Error, Alert, or Contrast Error result found in a scan.
One Click Dismiss
The default setting is for users to provide a reason for every dismissed result. The One Click Dismiss permission allows users the ability to turn on and off One Click Dismiss in their profile settings.
Editing a User Role
On the main User Role’s view, there is a list of all roles. If the Action button is activated for any role, it opens up the Edit User Role form. This form is identical to the form used to create a User Role. The current User Role settings can be modified here and saved.
In the Edit a User Role form, User Roles can also be Deleted.
Deleting a User Role
User Roles can be deleted from the Edit User Role form, which is activated by selecting the Action button for the desired User Role. Before deleting a User Role, it is important to assign all users with that role to a new role.
(last updated 8/26/2019)